RSS

My Epiphone Thunderbird Saga

15 Oct

Well, that didn’t turn out as well as I had hoped…

As the handful of visitors of this site are well aware, I’ve had a huge crush on the Epiphone Thunderbird Pro IV for a couple of years now. The day finally came this past September where the stars aligned (as well as my finances) and I finally got my grubby paws on the elusive T-Bird Pro.

I took it home, lovingly wiped it down with a lint-free cloth, grabbed a cup of coffee and plugged into my Crate BT220.

*BBBZZAAARRRRZZZZZZ-HMMMMMMHHHMMMMM-BZZZZZAAAAABBBZZZZUUUUZZZ*

WHAT THE HELL!! The bass buzzed and hummed like a nest of angry bees when I turned up the treble control the slightest little touch. I was heartbroken! My shiny new T-Bird was less than perfection; WHY GOD, WHY?!? *drops to knees, arms skyward*

So, after 3 rounds of unsuccessful repairs at Steve’s Music, I officially pulled the plug and gave the T-Bird Pro its last rites this morning. What to do now? I sold my first T-Bird, which was serving me quite well up until the day I let it go, and all I had now was my crappy Yamaha backup bass. With gigs looming on the horizon, I needed to get a main guitar tout de suite!

Off I set to Ottawa’s various music stores, which are conveniently sprawled across the entire city. I went from downtown to west end, uptown to the south side. After nearly 4 hours of shopping, I had a moment of clarity…

Why the hell don’t I get another Thunderbird IV?

Not a T-Bird Pro, as they’ve proven to be steaming piles of crap, but another T-Bird IV…just like I had before. I already had the $100 case that nothing else fits into, so I hit up Long & McQuade, where I bought my first T-Bird.

The New Thunderbird IV

And there it was, hanging on the same wall as 5 years ago…the T-Bird IV. MY T-Bird. It was like meeting up with an old friend for a beer and talking about the old days:

“Hey, remember that gig we played in Limoges where the cops showed up?

“Sure do, Ger. That was a kickass gig, man.”

“Good times.”

“Good times, indeed.”

So, essentially, I sit here where I left off a month or so ago. The T-Bird IV is in the stand and I find myself looking at it sometimes and feeling a little bit like a rock star. Throw around whatever cliche you want; the grass isn’t always greener…if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it…whatever.

All I can tell you is that I’m kinda glad I followed the dream of having the T-Bird Pro. If I hadn’t experienced its immense suckitude, I wouldn’t have realized how much I appreciated the old standard T-Bird IV.

I’m so ready to melt your face off with this bass. Get ready.

Ger

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 15/10/2011 in Gear Reviews

 

Tags: ,

One response to “My Epiphone Thunderbird Saga

  1. Darko

    23/11/2014 at 8:07 AM

    Well with all due respect you should of returned it then. that makes no sense whats ever. I have had myThunderbird Pro for a month now, and I LOVE it! The strings that usually come with any new bass are not the best so that was the first thing i replace with some GHS Flea Boomers. Perfect now. But even before yes it had some string noise, but it was the strings not the bass.

    You wrote two big blogs on this bass only to call it a steaming pile of crap? I love it in that it is it’s own beast. very different then the other thunderbirds with it’s pre amp. I think you just got a dud which in this case you should of just returned it,and got another one, because you are wrong. These are very good basses.

     

Leave a Reply

 
